Organisation of the District

Arundel and Littlehampton District is a member of the West Sussex Scout Council and can trace its history back to 1913.  

Arundel & Littlehampton District comprises the following Groups: 

1st Angmering 

1st Arundel (Earls Own) 

1st Barnham 

1st East Preston 

1st Ferring Sea Scouts 

4th Littlehampton 

5th Littlehampton Sea Scouts 

7th Littlehampton Air Scouts 

1st Rustington 

1st Yapton and Ford 

In addition to the 10 Groups the District also comprises the following District units: 

Centurion Explorer Unit 

Peregrine Explorer Unit  

1st Rustington Explorer Unit 

Vikings Explorer Unit 

Arundel & Littlehampton Young Leader Unit 

Arundel & Littlehampton District Scout Band 

Arundel & Littlehampton District Scout Active Support Unit 

The Scout District, like the Scout Groups that it serves, is a charity. The members of the District Executive Committee are the Trustees of the charity and responsible for general policy and fund-raising. The District Commissioner is responsible for Scouting itself within the District. 

The members of our District Executive committee are District Chairman, District Secretary and District Treasurer, the District Commissioner, District Youth Commissioner, District Explorer Scout Commissioner, District Network Commissioner, Campsite Manager, the Group Scout Leader of our Duty Group and such other members as are considered necessary. Ideally, we should have at least 2 members of the District Executive below the age of 25. The District Chairman is nominated by the District Commissioner. 

There is an Annual General Meeting of the District Scout Council held each year, at which members of the District Executive Committee are appointed, reports of the year’s activities and statements of the accounts are presented. All parents and carers of members of the 10 Groups and various District Units are entitled to attend and to vote at this meeting.